Carpathian Cake

During our aforementioned grocery run to Slovakia (see the entry about that here), we purchased this:

Carpathian Cake, also called Karpatka Kuchen (Polish name) and Karpatenkuchen (German name)

Carpathian Cake, also called Karpatka Kuchen and Karpatenkuchen

I normally don’t use box mixes for cakes, but I’d never heard of this type of cake before and the name “Carpathian” sounded dark and mysterious. Plus, the added ingredients were butter, eggs, milk, and more butter — can’t go wrong there.

I don't know if the name of the cake is derived from its region of origin, or the fact that it looks like a snowy mountain range. Maybe both?

A snowy mountain range on my tabletop

I don’t know whether the name of the cake is derived from its region of origin, or the fact that it looks like a snowy mountain range. Perhaps both?

Crème-filled deliciousness

Crème-filled deliciousness

Regardless, this cake was delicious! It tasted vaguely reminiscent of a Boston crème pie less the chocolate, or perhaps a plain/fruit-less Napoleon. I loved this cake and so did my husband. My daughter was convinced this was her birthday cake (it wasn’t), so she sang “Happy Birthday” to herself over and over as she inhaled her slice. Needless to say, this cake was a winner and I will research a recipe so that I can make it again.

Leave a Reply

