Recipe: Powidl Pastries

When I posted my powidl recipe, I said that I would provide further recipes using powidl. One of the recipes I listed was powidltascherl, but when I researched those I discovered they are made with the same potato dough as knoedel (see my recipe for apricot knoedel here). My husband was not a fan of this dough so I improvised the following “how to” for powidl pastries. The grocery stores and konditorei sell pastries like these so they are not something that I invented, and they are (somewhat) authentic.

Ingredients:
powidl
2 packages puff pastry

1. Unroll both packages of puff pastry and stack one on top of the other. (Note: I did not do this when I made the ones in the pictures. As you will see in the final picture, the powidl oozed out of the pastry, which is why I will be using a double-layer of puff pastry in future batches.)

2. Cut the pastry into quarters, and spread some powidl in the center of each quarter.

I could not keep my son from eating the powidl long enough to take a picture.

I could not keep my son from eating the powidl long enough to take a picture.

3. Fold the long sides of the pastry towards the middle, overlapping. Press to seal. Fold both the short sides in and press to seal.

Kinda like folding a letter, but ultimately more delicious.

Kinda like folding a letter, but more delicious.

4. Flip the pastry so the seal is on the bottom. Brush top with melted butter, then cut four slits in the dough to vent. Move to a parchment-lined baking sheet.

More butter is more better.

More butter is more better.

5. Bake at the oven temperature specified on the package of pastry until the pastries are golden and puffy, rotating the pan halfway through baking. (I cooked my pastries at 220 for 15 minutes, and I rotated them after 7 minutes.)

6. Enjoy!

6. Enjoy!

One thought on “Recipe: Powidl Pastries

Leave a Reply

