Häuserl am Roan

We enjoyed a fantastically delicious lunch at Häuserl am Roan this weekend. Not every restaurant has something on its menu to get every member of our family excited about eating, but this restaurant did. My son was able to order his favorite lunch: nudelsuppe und brot (chicken noodle soup and bread). My daughter practically ate herself into a schnitzel coma, and my husband had this:

Jäger Schnitzel

Jäger Schnitzel

This is schnitzel topped with lardons and sliced mushrooms, served with a ham and mushroom gravy. So delicious, yet the recipes that I have found look so easy. I plan to make these in the very near future, so stay tuned for a recipe.

Not as immediately do-able was my meal:

Gratinierte palatschinken

Gratinierte palatschinken

This is gratined crepes filled with sheep cheese and spinach, topped with rectangles of sheep cheese and tomato. They were so heavenly that I would have licked my plate, had we not been in public. I have no experience with crepes, however, so in order to recreate this dish I first have to learn how to make crepes, then figure out what kind of crepe this is. It is denser than the crepes I’ve seen, so maybe they are made with a different type of flour? This will take some experimentation and hopefully in the not-too-distant future I will have a result worth sharing here.

 

2 thoughts on “Häuserl am Roan

  1. Pingback: Lichtenthaler Bräu | Eating My Way Across Vienna

  2. Pingback: Cafe Wunderer | Eating My Way Across Austria

Leave a Reply

