Cafe Nest

Today my dog and I met a friend for breakfast at Cafe Nest. In my head I wanted the “Oriental Breakfast,” which includes hummus, but what I actually ordered was the “Mediterranean Breakfast.” I slathered a great deal of what I thought was hummus onto my bread and chomped in, only to discover that it was horseradish. That’ll wake you up!

An unexpected breakfast

An unexpected breakfast.

As you can see in the picture, the breakfast came with a glass of Prosecco so I was able to wash away my sorrows. (Though there weren’t too many sorrows because I like horseradish.) I also ordered a piece of marmorgugelhupf, a marbled chocolate and vanilla cake. It is topped with a dusting of confectioner’s sugar and is oh, so good. It’s now on my “to make” list.

Leave a Reply

