Diós kalács

We spent the day in Sopron, Hungary today. We began our visit with a stop at a bakery located on Színház u., outside the old city wall but close to the fire tower. I don’t remember the name of the bakery, but hopefully we’ll return so I can add this detail. The purpose of going to the bakery was to buy some sweet bread to tie the kids over until lunch time… but then we were confronted with this:

Too much delicious.

Too much delicious.

Needless to say, the kids weren’t the only ones who got a piece of sweet bread. My husband and I shared a slice of diós kalács, a nut roll that looks like two cinnamon rolls joined at the hip. It was made with walnuts and reminded me of Esterházy torte, which is my favorite cake that I’ve tried in Vienna (so far). I’ve found several recipes for the nut roll and plan to begin experimentation soon. Stay tuned.

One thought on “Diós kalács

  1. Pingback: Corvinus – Étterem Sopron | Eating My Way Across Vienna

Leave a Reply

