Stiftsrestaurant Melk

We did a group tour yesterday that included a boat ride down the Danube and a tour of Stift Melk (a Benedictine monastery). We had an hour in between the cruise and the tour, so we were able to enjoy a delicious lunch at the Stiftsrestaurant Melk located on the monastery grounds. I originally ordered a carp filet coated with poppy seeds but they were all out, so I had to “settle” for this:

Schweinsbraten

Schweinsbraten

This is roast pork with a gravy, semmelknödel (bread dumplings, which are kind of like stuffing balls), and sauerkraut. I wish I knew what the gravy was because it was delicious but alas, neither the description on the menu nor the website shed any light on the subject. My son gobbled up the dumplings as if he hadn’t already eaten two lunches, and my husband and I both like them, so I will be learning how to make them.

And just so I don’t come across as the type of person who is more interested in the food that I ate at the monastery than the monastery itself, here are a couple pictures to show that other aspects of the visit were not lost on me:

Courtyard of Stift Melk

Courtyard of Stift Melk

Village of Melk from the terrace of the monastery

Village of Melk from the terrace of the monastery

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

