Lebkuchen

Lebkuchen houses

Lebkuchen houses

Lebkuchen (gingerbread) treats are available in Viennese grocery stores beginning mid-August, and are everywhere around the city from mid-November through the new year. My personal favorite are the lebkuchen men shaped like Krampus that are sold at the Christkindlmarkts. I bought one for each of my children and put them on the breakfast table the morning after Krampusnacht (Dec. 5).

It know it seems silly to spend the time making my own lebkuchen when there are so many varieties available, many of which are made fresh by Austrian bakers. I suppose I should start learning how to make them now, though, while I can still compare them to what is available here and be assured that my version is authentic (enough). Stay tuned for recipes, and more pictures from the Christkindlmarkts next winter.

2 thoughts on “Lebkuchen

    • The Vienna Pride will be in Heldenplatz 11-16 June: there was a stand that sold lebkuchen squares there last year. (http://www.wien.info/en/vienna-for/gay-lesbian/rainbow-parade) Manner makes chocolate-covered lebkuchen pretzels; you can buy them at the Manner shop on Stephansplatz and maybe some of the larger grocery stores (Merkur, Spar). You might be able to find bags of lebkuchen cookies in the bigger grocery stores, but they’re not as common now as they are in the fall. I don’t remember seeing it in any of the bakeries lately, but maybe there is a stand at Naschmarkt that has them. (http://www.wien.info/en/shopping-wining-dining/markets/naschmarkt) I don’t remember seeing one, but I’ve never specifically looked for them either. Good luck, and enjoy your time in Vienna!

Leave a Reply

